Only Reflections

When I was a child,
feeling the goodness
in me,
in you,
in all things,
I looked to you to confirm it

I poured all my love
into people who were
Incredibly lost. People
who never felt deeply
all hearts share a truth.

People hurt others
when they are hurting
They don’t understand
who they are.
People make boxes
then sit in them,
shouting loudly.

They are really afraid
of light. And sometimes
do terrible things.

You taught me
to be ashamed.
You said goodness
is something out there
something that we are not.
This is what you had learnt.
You said you know
that Love is a lie.

You confused me so much.
It’s okay. I accept you.
There is nothing to forgive
Everyone is doing their best

You made me look
at being a person.
Thank you. It broke me
again and again.
But something is still here.

When we get broken
it makes an opening, for light.
I understand now
how terribly lonely you must be.

It’s time to change direction
and pour all our love into truth,
I will not be ashamed
if it doesn’t come back.

There is no return of light –
only reflections.

When I give my love to truth
it’s flowing in to you, too.
You are truth.
You don’t need to know about it

One day, we will all be free.

2 Comments

Filed under poems

2 responses to “Only Reflections

  1. susan bourne

    lovely… profound, flowing truth… thank you…

Leave a comment...

