Unwrapped

The moon took me tonight,
took me with her luminous beauty
hanging there, so secret, so full
and wrapped me, a million times around.

I wish she had wrapped me
a million times more,
so that I might have drawn
closer, enough to stay;

Because the light she reflects
was always soft and true,
and she never whispers anything
that is not love.

A friend put his hand on my heart
then took it away completely,
so now when the wind blows
it blows right through me.

Everything I thought was me
hurts too much to keep,
I walk like a person
but feel all air and space.

I hoped he could touch my mind
so I would lose that too,
because all I ever ask for
is to be fully empty.

The moon has gone behind clouds
and the wind is not blowing.
I am becoming unwrapped.
I sit like a person, an old, tired person.

~

 

Leave a comment

Filed under poems

Leave a comment...

