Coffee In Summer

Coffee in Summer

Hey, daddy,
just thought I’d say ‘hi’ –
not that you will hear of course
– but I’m sitting drinking coffee
at three in the morning
on a summer’s day
and it doesn’t make a difference anymore.

Did you know how much I think of you?
I keep this photo by my bed –
the only one I’ve got
of you – I found it in a drawer
in my grandmother’s desk…

So, daddy,
I wonder what you’re doing now,
if you are asleep –
they tell me I look like you
and your sisters – but
it seems that doesn’t mean too much
although it does (to me)-

Do you remember the pink elephant
you bought just for fun?
Well, I guess you don’t,
but I love to hold it sometimes – it’s the
only thing I have you touched…

Well, daddy,
you don’t know where I live
or what I am doing
or who I am
and I know it doesn’t mean a thing
to you – which shouldn’t really matter
but it does (to me)-

So anyway, daddy,
just thought I’d say ‘hi’ –
not that you will hear of course
– but I’m sitting drinking coffee
at three in the morning
on a summer’s day
and it doesn’t make a difference anymore.

Leave a comment

Filed under old poems

Leave a comment...

